Wat Niwet Thammaprawat was built in 1876 in the reign of King Rama V, the first Thai king who visited Europe. This Gothic-style buddhist temple on a small island served as a royal temple when the King and his family spent their summer in the nearby Bang Pa-in Palace.
The church-like exterior makes it stand out among other monastery buildings while the interior of the main chapel is impressive with its main Buddha image “Phra Buddha Narumol Dhammopas”, beautiful decorations, marble floor, and stained-glass windows, one of them has the image of King Rama V himself.
Several European style buildings were also constructed in the compound. They are currently used as library, offices, monk residences, and also a school where novices and monks receive their formal and religious education.
Transportation from and to the “mainland” is via a cable car crossing the river. The temple-run service is free but donations for electricity cost is welcome.